top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Lormor

Time to go home and rest

It has been a couple of days since I got out of hospital and I just wanted to take stock of what has been going on. I have just spent the last 9 days in hospital and of those days, 5 I was constantly having pre-meds or chemo, my chemo sessions ended up about 22 hours long.


Firstly, I have to say a massive thank you to all of the staff at the Chesterfield Royal Hospital, the nurses on the Oncology department and everyone working on the Hasland Ward, without their love and kindness I would have never got through those 9 days.


I like to turn everything into a challenge and this was no different, the time spent in one room and the fact that I am hooked up to a machine every second of every day could have drove me insane. My routine was pretty much wherever I went, this machine went...….and I mean everywhere. I would get 20 minutes between cycles to grab a quick shower and then back on it again. I have showered at 1.30am and at 5.20am! In the beginning what I didn't realise was that they had to monitor and measure every bit of fluid going in and out of my body, so every time I had a drink I had to write it down. What is was and how much? Every time I went to the loo, I had to wee in a bottle and pass it to a nurse to be weighed, it never stopped for 5 full days. Their should have been a sign on my door "hang your dignity here and collect on the way out!"


Being home has taken a couple of days to get used to as well, trying to get back into a routine and lose the smells from the hospital. Few sleepless nights and nana naps during the day have been an occurrence but I'm slowly getting used to 'normal' life. Wednesday I am back to the hospital for a check up, bloods, clean of the line in my chest and a chat with the consultant. I'm quite intrigued to see how things have been progressing. One thing I have noticed is that after my chemo, things have started to grow back. My hair, nails, etc., so I thought I should have been the other way round (I never did things by the book)!!


Onwards and upwards, as the saying goes, I apologise if it's not an inspiring blog but I just wanted to give an update and I am here if anyone has any questions or comments.


Take care guys and much love




302 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Getting the all clear!!

I used to write my blog at some unusual times but never at 1.30am in a field in Norfolk on a Wednesday. On a camping trip and I’m unable to sleep, the thought of writing again has been going around in

bottom of page