top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Lormor

Happy New Year and all that Gubbins!!

I got some great feedback regarding the last blog, so I thought I’d try and feed my massive ego and continue it on a consistent basis and hopefully some people get some joy, comfort, inspiration or they say, “fuck me, what’s he rabbitting on about again”. Initially I was struggling to put something together for December but this morning I woke up with a spring in my step and thought let’s do it!


I would like to wish everyone all the very best for 2021!!!


Recapping on 2020, I can only look at it from a positive point of view or the only view to take is that cancer or COVID didn’t finish me off. Everything else is a bonus. I managed to return to work last month for the first time in nearly 2 years........yes, yes I know. I’ve never worked a day in my life!! But that’s been a massive step, and I know I’m not on the front line being shot at or having bullets flying over my head or saving lives in these desperate times but it’s a start. And I still had that anxiety or nervousness to take that first step back into a bit of normality.


I have to admit that over the last couple of days, i struggled with being placed in Tier 4 (I’m fine now but my mood dropped for a day or 2), it feels like this pandemic will never end and we’ve had to cancel another major holiday. I know I get the piss taken out of me for my holidays but travelling has really broadened the mind and given me a sense of purpose. In the last year, I’ve managed to get to Cape Verde, Corfu, Spain, Cornwall, Lake District, all in a pandemic and all around my illness/recovery. Anything is possible with a bit of planning and the balls to jump in headfirst and do something. An old sales manager once had a line and I still remember it to this day, it goes something like this......”an opportunity only becomes opportunity, when it ceases to be one.”


I was watching a documentary last night and a woman had decided to get out of ‘the rat race’ and move to the Caribbean to teach people to scuba dive and said it was the best thing she’s ever done. She scuba dives every day and when they run out of money she goes and gets some paid work so they can eat. The English woman who was with her said “it’s mad ain’t it, I work 50 weeks a year to have 2 weeks of holiday and you work 2 weeks a year to have 50 weeks of holiday. Just makes you think really!!


Other things I found out in 2020, I can’t drink, red wine and cheese isn’t a good mix before bed, having cancer is a great excuse to get out of things (I apologise profusely to all of the staff who work in the call centres that have had to listen to my sorry tale so I can get a refund), Sorry Kiri, I have no shame! My mam once said to me as she was coming to the end of her battle with cancer, “I do love you, but you have been a bugger!” So, I thought I’d best carry it on.


One thing I’m really looking forward to in the coming weeks and months is the opportunity (see that word has cropped up again) to give something back. Having/living/coping with cancer is monumental struggle at times and in my spare time I want to set up a small company which, I hope, will benefit the cancer community. My end goal is to be able to provide retreats and breaks for people and their loved ones who have been affected by cancer. I would like to offer help, advice, support and a break to anyone I could help. I’ve already had a couple of meetings with people who have given me great advice about which path to take and that’s going to continue next week and hopefully, I’ll be able to launch something in the next few weeks. So, anyone who’d like to help or have ideas, I’d love to hear from you.


A couple of goals I’ve set myself for 2021.......get this business up and running, play more golf (and better golf, got to get that 28 handicaps down), get better at football trading and not to be dead!!!!


Stay safe and much love


Tony



319 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Getting the all clear!!

I used to write my blog at some unusual times but never at 1.30am in a field in Norfolk on a Wednesday. On a camping trip and I’m unable to sleep, the thought of writing again has been going around in

Finally.......it’s here!!

This is the final chapter of my experience and blog. I had hoped my last blog would’ve been the last one and I’d sailed through my stem cell transplant. This has taken me a long time to write this and

bottom of page