top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Lormor

From the all clear to chemotherapy in 2 weeks

Updated: Jul 1, 2019

Having battled follicular lymphoma for the past few years, I have got used to and maybe comfortable around the prognosis and treatment. Thankfully, radiotherapy had cleared up my last bout of cancer but what was to come was something I was unprepared for and didn't expect.


Within a week of the all clear, I started to get stomach pains and waved it off as wind! I noticed the I had black stools, so I went straight off to the GP and told to go to straight to hospital where I spent 24 hours in hospital and then released. The pain in my stomach was getting worse now and most of the time I was doubled up in pain so I asked the PFA if the could pay for a private consultation because something wasn't right, within 24 hours I was seeing a doctor. Within 10 minutes of my consultation the doctor was asking about related family members who had had stomach cancer and he was the first person ever to mention this. 4 hours later, I have a camera in my stomach which reveals a large bleeding ulcer which is caused by the lymphoma. I am then rushed back of to hospital where I spend the next 3 days on an IV drip of fluids and antibiotics and then released back into the wild.


By this time, the lump on my neck has exploded in size as well and is now about the size of a grapefruit. It has returned in exactly the same place as I had the treatment of radiotherapy for and I could actually feel it moving during the day, while it was getting bigger and changing shape. I then have a scheduled appointment at Chesterfield Oncology Department to see my consultant where he is concerned with everything going on in my neck and stomach and decides a course of chemotherapy is the best way forward to get this aggressive form of lymphoma under control. Little did I know, was that was going to start within the week!


So, on Monday 2 June I was admitted to hospital for tests to make sure I was fit and well to start the chemotherapy on the next day. A heart scan, actually found I had a heart, which was a shock to a few people and blood tests revealed I was okay to start my treatment. On the Tuesday I was hooked up from 8am until 5.30pm and my first lot of chemo was admitted and with a pleasant surprised the day passed trouble free and I had no bad reactions, 2 days later I was allowed back home. The plan for the chemo, is for every 3 weeks and a minimum of 6 sessions in total, so lets see what's in store...……..







333 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Getting the all clear!!

I used to write my blog at some unusual times but never at 1.30am in a field in Norfolk on a Wednesday. On a camping trip and I’m unable to sleep, the thought of writing again has been going around in

bottom of page