top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Lormor

Arrrgh.......tits, bum, willies and f*ck!!

Big thank you for the feedback on my last blog. The messages of support really inspire me to keep going and win this fight.


The reason for the title of this blog comes from this week. I knew this week was a pivitol week in my treatment and what was to come. I didn't quite get the news i wanted but we live to fight another day.


On Tuesday i had a meeting at the Royal Hallamshire hospital in Sheffield with a new consultant and we discussed the next lot of treatment and what that held for me. They are going to go ahead with the stem cell transplant and are going to use my stem cells as part of the transplant. They will be removed (harvested) from me, then frozen and then put back into me.


This is the plan for me now, 17 September i go back to Chesterfield hospital and have the 5/6 days of chemo, which i have already had. Within the week of getting out of Chesterfield i will then go to Sheffield, where they will start the harvesting of my stem cells. This is about a 6 day process and then i will get about a 2 week break. Back to Sheffield where i will be given 6 more days of chemo and i have been reliably informed that the 6th and final day of chemo is an industrial sized and strength of chemo...........cheers!! It's not pleasant and then i have to live in Sheffield for the next 3 weeks so they can monitor me whe and whenever i need them. Not sure what's worse, the chemo or having to live in Sheffield????


So, i thought that was all the bad news the consultant could give me, oh no! Just up his sleeve was another bombshell. He comes out with "the chances of this working a fairly slim" and "this will not be an easy ride with the cancer that you have got". WTF!!!!!!! And then, while i'm on the floor he comes along and kicks me in the knackers with "the next course of chemo (CAR-T) hasn't got a great success rate either". That drive home from Sheffield was a quiet one and it had floored me a little bit but after good nights sleep and i woke up on Wednesday full of life and vigour and this twat of a disease isn't going to beat me.


Wednesday i then had to see my consultant from Chesterfield hospital and i was armed with my list of questions from the day before. But she stole my thunder by saying "i bet your 1st question is, why should i carry on?" Which it was and she calmly talked me through the process and reason why. I have to say it never crossed my mind NOT to have the stem cell transplant but i just wanted to know the possible outcome. The way it was sold to me was this way, she said there's 2 positives i would take from this. 1. We've thrown the kitchen sink at you regarding chemo treatment and you have handled everything, you look well and fit to deal to with it, your young enough to go through. 2. She said, this is an expensive treatment and if Sheffield thought there was no hope, they wouldn't spend the money on you (harsh but fair point).


Brill, that's good enough for me. So, a couple of weeks break from it all, hopefully a little holiday to fit in (crossing fingers profusely) and then we are bang at from 17 September and everything should finish mid November. You guys should know by now, i don't do the simple method so i just see this another hurdle to overcome and to kick its ass.


Unfortunately, i haven't got a daft picture of me smiling/gurning this week but i have manage to find a picture of this cute little kitten.



Thank you again, if you have got this far and apologies for any grammar or speeling mistakes (haha did anyone spot the deliberate mistake??). There's been no tears at this end this week although i might have been close on Tuesday night!


We live to fight another day and onwards and upwards. Much love to you all!!

493 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Getting the all clear!!

I used to write my blog at some unusual times but never at 1.30am in a field in Norfolk on a Wednesday. On a camping trip and I’m unable to sleep, the thought of writing again has been going around in

bottom of page