top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Lormor

Adios Chesterfield

Well......that’s me done. My time with Chesterfield hospital has come to an end. I’ve waited until I’ve finished this treatment, instead of writing this in some sort of post-apoplectic melt down, so I can say a huge thank you to everyone involved in my help and treatment.


The staff at the hospital have been amazing and I can’t be more grateful to everyone on Hasland Ward and the nurses in haematology (I do apologise if I’ve missed anyone). The care that the nurses show while working under extremely trying circumstances is quite incredible. You have made me feel loved at my lowest times and happy when I needed it. I found out that they used snippets from my blog to put onto their Facebook page and some nurses reading it on holiday, that pleases me because this is what I always wanted this to be all about.


This week has been a strange week because mentally I have felt very strong but physically I’ve struggled a bit. The fact I didn’t have a poo for 4 days might not have helped as I haven’t eaten much and although you may have seen me polishing off a curry, what you didn’t see was me throwing it up an hour later! I always had in my mind that this week was always a stepping stone to the next phase of the treatment.


I now transfer over to Sheffield Hallam hospital and the stem cell transplant now becomes very real, I have to admit, it scares me a bit but it’s the next hurdle to overcome. I get a 10 day break before I head to Hallam where they take my stem cells. When that is done I get a 4 week break until the next lot of chemo starts and I have my 4 weeks in Sheffield.


So, as one door shuts, another one opens and we’ll see what’s in store over the next few weeks. I’m guessing by the end of November this will all be over. I have no idea about results and how that happens but if you remember, I was only given a 20/30% chance that this would work and it looks like I’ve smashed the fuck out of that.


For the first time I have returned to add to my post, I now type this extra bit 3 days after I got out of hospital. For some reason I didn’t feel it was time to post the last episode and I’ve had a strange couple of days.


When I say strange, I mean confusing, baffling. I’m really struggling to get my head around how well I feel. This was always going to be a battle mentally but how do explain have 5 days of chemo and then walking out of hospital and feel perfectly okay. I’ve felt fine for the past 3 days, with no side effects or ill effects of what I’ve just gone through. It feels like I’m waiting for my world to fall in, but it’s not.


In all seriousness, I’m eternally grateful I have no side effects. In truth , I’m a great big shithouse and I’d probably be on here complaining of every ailment under the sun if I did. So, I take my luck forward with me onto the next venture.........stem cell transplant and Sheffield Hallam, what do you have in store for me???



434 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Getting the all clear!!

I used to write my blog at some unusual times but never at 1.30am in a field in Norfolk on a Wednesday. On a camping trip and I’m unable to sleep, the thought of writing again has been going around in

bottom of page